Maine Maritime Academy
Prospective Students Alumni Parents Students Directions Home

Maine NROTC Students Recognized for their Achievements at Maine Maritime Academy


CASTINE, Maine – Navy Reserve Officer Training Corps (ROTC) students from Maine Maritime Academy, the University of Maine, and Husson University gathered at MMA for the annual Navy ROTC Award Ceremony on April 23, 2013 to recognize the midshipmen’s achievements throughout the 2012-2013 school year.

“Throughout the year, all the midshipmen and officer candidates within the unit work diligently to improve themselves academically, physically, and professionally,” said Captain Michael A. Hegarty, Commanding Officer of the NROTC Unit. “Today this ceremony is an opportunity to recognize their hard work and outstanding accomplishments.”

In total, fourteen awards were given out to deserving students who exemplify the values and traditions that are expected of an officer in the United States Military.

Captain Larry Mutty, United States Navy, Retired, presented the Penobscot Bay Navy League scholarship worth $1,000 to Midshipman Second-Class Rebecca Metcalf for exceptional overall performance as a member of the Navy ROTC.

Mutty also presented the Pine Tree Military Officers Association of America medal to Midshipman Third-Class Matthew Plocinski for academic and exceptional leadership.

The Sons of the American Revolution medal was presented by Mr. Wayne Mallar to Midshipman First-Class Patrick Gallagher for his high degree of leadership, professional military bearing, and general excellence as a member of the Navy ROTC unit.

Two medals were presented by Mrs. Sonia Mallar on behalf of the National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution to Midshipman First-Class Sarah Skelley and Midshipman First-Class Zara-Anne Farrar for demonstrating academic excellence, dependability, good character, adherence to military discipline, leadership, and a fundamental and patriotic understanding of the importance of the ROTC.

The Military Order of World Wars medal was presented by Capt. David Fenderson, United States Navy, Retired, to Midshipman Second-Class Samuel Hall for having demonstrated leadership, professionalism, and an unwavering patriotic desire to serve his country.

Fenderson also presented the Sojourners medal to Midshipman Second-Class Ryan Armstrong in recognition of the highest attributes of Americanism and support of the United States as a member of the ROTC.

MMA Navy ROTC Unit Executive Officer, Commander Hank Stewart presented the United Services Automobile Association Spirit Award to Midshipman First-Class James Belmont. This award, a portrait clock, was presented to Belmont for being the unit member who best exemplifies the concept of service to his unit, community, and nation.

The Reserve Officer Association medals were presented to three midshipmen who have demonstrated superior leadership and academic success within their class. Lieutenant Bruce Hallett presented the gold medal to Midshipman First-Class Joseph Gilbert, the silver medal to Midshipman Fourth-Class John Doyon, and the bronze medal was presented to Midshipman Fourth-Class Adam Neubert.

Gunnery Sergeant George Oshana, Assistant Marine Training Officer, presented the Northwoods Military Officers Association of America (MOAA) Satellite awards. The first award was the George H. Bunnell Book award which was presented to Midshipman Second-Class Destin Moag for another year of academic effort and success in his pursuit of a career in the uniformed services. This year’s book was Watervliet Arsenal: A History of America’s Oldest Arsenal.

The second award was a medal and certificate presented on behalf of the National MOAA of Virginia to Midshipman First-Class Jeremy Bullard for steadfast leadership in his pursuit of a career in the uniformed services.

The National Defense Industrial Association award was presented to Midshipman Second-Class Amanda Bello for top academic performance in both degree and ROTC courses, participation in extracurricular activities, and for demonstrating leadership qualities.

Two medals and compasses were presented on behalf of the Southern Maine Chapter of the Military Officers Association of America, these awards were presented to OC Timothy Destefano and Midshipman First-Class Kevin Lees for having demonstrated exceptional leadership potential for military leadership as a member of the ROTC.

Additionally, the Southern Maine Chapter of MOAA presented two scholarship checks for $500 each to the top Third-Class and Fourth-Class midshipmen. This year, the scholarships were awarded to Midshipman Third-Class Kyle Marshall and Midshipman Fourth-Class Timothy Grant.

The Old Crow’s Award is a $1,000 scholarship awarded to a midshipman for outstanding performance in a non-technical major. This year’s recipient of the Old Crow’s Award was Midshipman Third-Class Casey Shalkowski.

Likewise, the Armed Forces Communications and Electronics Association award is a $1,000 scholarship presented to a midshipman for outstanding performance in a technical major. This year’s Armed Forces Communications and Electronics Association award was presented to Midshipman Fourth-Class Miles Smith.

Finally, the Chief of Naval Operations Distinguished Midshipman Graduate Program is an award program designed to honor one graduating midshipman at each Navy ROTC unit who has demonstrated the highest standards of leadership, academic, and military performance. This year, the award was presented to Midshipman First-Class William Wyper.

Prior to the conclusion of the ceremony, each graduating midshipman was presented with a gold ensign insignia and second lieutenant bar with certificates from the MOAA Pine Tree Chapter of Maine.

For more information on ROTC opportunities at Maine Maritime Academy, visit

Maine Maritime Academy is a co-educational, public college on the coast of Maine offering 17 degree programs in engineering, management, science and transportation. For more information, visit

Quick Links