Maine Maritime Academy
Prospective Students Alumni Parents Students Directions Home


CASTINE, Maine – Maine Maritime Academy is proud to announce this year’s Wall of Honor inductees, Henry A. Scheel and American Bureau of Shipping (ABS) scholars, and Excellence in Teaching awardee will be honored at this year’s Celebration of Achievement event Thursday, November 8th. 

This year’s Wall of Honor inductees are Kevin Poitras, president of General Dynamics Electric Boat and MMA class of 1973 graduate, and Steven Durrel, president of Irving Shipbuilding Inc. and MMA class of 1984 graduate.

This year’s Scheel Scholars are Courtney E. Dufour, Nicholas P. LaCombe, Tate E. Wagstaff, Dale A. Thomas, III, Charles D. Spear, Ashley N. Burnett, Diana L. Townsend, Chad M. Mills, Aline H. Spear, and Timothy J. DeStefano.

This year’s ABS Scholars are James Belmont, Christopher Brawn, Tucker Doane, Angela Fouquette, Zackary Lawerence, Bryce Lynn, Andrew McHenry, Michael McMahon, Benjamin Russell, and Dale Thomas.

This year’s Excellence in Teaching Award winner is Barbara Fleck.

The ceremony is scheduled for 6:00 p.m. followed by dinner at 7:00 p.m. in the main dining room of the Harold Alfond Student Center.

Quick Links